There are three main types of scars

Hypertrophic scar

Hypertrophic scars

Hypertrophic or raised scars form immediately after wound healing due to an overproduction of connective tissue. This scar type tends to bulge and project above the level of the surrounding skin, but it remains restricted to the region of the original injury. Risk factors for raised scars are infections and insufficient immobilisation of the wound.

Overgrowing scar


Keloids are also called overgrowing scars. They develop some time after the healing of the wound. Because of a massive overproduction of connective tissue, the scar grows out beyond the wound and onto healthy skin. Keloid scars become larger than the original injury.

Scars on parts of the body with high skin tension are susceptible to keloid formation. Quite frequently, a genetic tendency to develop keloids is inherited. Keloids also occur up to ten times more frequently in people with dark skin.

Atrophic scar

Atrophic scars

Atrophic scars are slightly sunken due to a lack of collagen. In these cases scar tissue covers the wound but not enough tissue is produced to fill out the damaged area sufficiently. Atrophic scars are particularly common after acne or chicken pox.

One treatment for different types of scars

Hypertrophic scars and Keloids are best treated with Mederma to become less visible. In some cases complementary treatment options in addition to Mederma may be useful. Ask your doctor or pharmacist for more information.


The three phases of scar formation

Woman with scar

See how Mederma works

Mederma film teaser

A real life Mederma story

Portrait Lakshmi

Extended Search

Filter results on the following areas

Merz [Logo]

There are three main types of scars - Mederma

Stand: 11-Dec-2018, 09:07 AM
© 2018 Merz Pharmaceuticals. All rights reserved.